Metallica have uploaded a video for their new single, ‘Hardwired’. It’s the first new song from the San Francisco metal gods since 2011’s Beyond Magnetic EP.

At the same time they announced that a new album, Hardwired…To Self-Destruct, will follow on November 18th.

This will be Metallica’s first studio double album with 12 songs over the 80-minute runtime. There’s even a third disc for diehard fans with 14 tracks of “Riff Origins”, including the long-anticipated ‘Lords of Summer’.

The album has been recorded with Slayer producer Greg Fidelman, and that really shows through on ‘Hardwired’. The track is closer to ‘80s Slayer than it is to Metallica’s output of that era, and it is all the better for it.

The song is barely three minutes long, totally out of character for modern Metallica, but it is a cracker. The drums may be a bit loud for some but Lars Ulrich even gets on the double bass pedals for it so it sounds proper thrashy.

There are so many riffs squeezed in here and the guitar tone is reminiscent of Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman’s partnership in the aforementioned Slayer.

Singer James Hetfield’s voice has altered greatly over the years but on ‘Hardwired’ he seems at home with his new singing style, spitting out rapid fire lyrics and, unusually for Metallica, a lot of swear words.

Check out the video…


Hardwired To Self-Destruct can be ordered here


Disc One

01. Hardwired
02. Atlas, Rise!
03. Now That We’re Dead
04. Moth Into Flame
05. Am I Savage?
06. Halo On Fire

Disc Two

01. Confusion
02. Dream No More
03. ManUNkind
04. Here Comes Revenge
05. Murder One
06. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe Edition Only)

01. Lords Of Summer
02. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)
03. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)
04. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)
05. Plow (Riff Origins)
06. Sawblade (Riff Origins)
07. RIP (Riff Origins)
08. Lima (Riff Origins)
09. 91 (Riff Origins)
10. MTO (Riff Origins)
11. RL72 (Riff Origins)
12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)
13. CHI (Riff Origins)
14. X Dust (Riff Origins)